Hi Sassyland: Parenting ain’t for sissies, you guys.

Y’all…there is some brutal honesty in this post…

Lately, things have been pretty tense in the house with my extremely moody teenager.

Let’s just say that I probably won’t be getting the Parent of the Year Award this year. Ya wanna know why? M’kay…

I told her, and I quote, “Get the fuck OUT OF HERE RIGHT NOW!” the other night. Yeah…it wasn’t my best moment. Here’s the deal, yo…

Parenting ain’t for sissies, y’all…

These creatures that I brought into the world are beautiful, articulate, highly intelligent and downright frustrating as all hell. I knew the minute I said it I’d feel bad about it…and I did – sorta. But I’ll be honest…it took awhile for the eye rolling and the heavy sighs and the stomping around the house and the door slamming and the acting like a complete twit to bring me down to that level.

So here is what I’m going to fucking do about it:

I’m going to leave the room and compose myself from now on. I’m going to focus on positive reinforcement instead of getting pissy about the attitude.

funny-quotes-i-just-rolled-my-eyes

Every time I get an eye roll, I’ll tell her that her eyes are REALLY BIG AND BRIGHT TODAY…

i-dont-always-need-attention-but-when-i-do-i-scream-and-stomp-my-feet

When she stomps up the stairs, I’ll tell her I love her shoes or socks.

doorslam

When she slams the door, I’ll tell her she’s got one heck of an arm.

 

2ebe35cae0eef7ade6bebc9c423830a9

And when she talks back to me, I’m gonna ask her “Do you kiss your mother with that mouth?!”

…I may have to work on that last one. Your suggestions are welcome.

So I’m going to LAVISH her with positive reinforcement, asking about her day – which I normally do, but I’m going to take it to a new level. I’m going to schedule time for us to just hang out together alone. Just the two of us. I’ll show interest in different ways with regards to the things that make her tick. I’ll cook her special meals…all to win her back and extinguish the attitude. Then, at least I won’t be able to say I didn’t try. And if it continues…I’ll plunk her ass in therapy so quick it’ll make her head spin.

 

4 thoughts on “Hi Sassyland: Parenting ain’t for sissies, you guys.

  1. Don’t beat yourself up over it! Believe me when I say kids are meant to send us over the edge and I went over it many kids ago! The attitude it does go away but S-L-O-W-L-Y!
    Love you!

  2. And if you do blow your top again….forgive yourself and move on. No one warned us that this Mommy gig ain’t for sissies! LOL
    I have to admit I’ve had some very unproud explosions of my own over the years. I try to do better but that’s all we can do….try, try again.

  3. markbialczak says:

    My daughter is 24 and quite lovely and personable and fun to be around and on my list of favorite people every day, Sassy. You will reach that time in your life, too!

    Now, though, don’t fret about blowing up at her moody teen behavior. Not your best moment, but give yourself a pass. Next time she’s acting so crappy, maybe try, “I’m here for you always, but can’t really help you if you don’t want me to. Let me know when you want to talk about it reasonably.”

    My hopes for making you feel better today and tomorrow, my friend.

Leave a Reply

