Apartment Manager Tales # 42: A rooster in a van.

This goes into my “You’ve *GOT* to be fucking kidding me” file.

Chevrolet-Express-VanPLUS

roosterEQUALS

A ROOSTER…IN A VAN, Y’ALL!

10:17 AM November 17th, 2014

Caller: Hi – I wanted to let you know that the new people that moved in above me have a rooster in their van and it’s been crowing really early in the mornings and it’s been waking me up for quite some time. It’s been getting really cold out lately and I  think you should call animal control or something because this is really quite ridiculous.

Me: Whoa, whoa, whoa…hang on a second. I’m sorry if I’m cutting you off or laughing at what you’re telling me right now, but did you just say the people who moved in above you are keeping a *rooster* in their *van*?

Caller: Yes, that’s what I’m saying.

Me: I mean, I’m sorry if I’m laughing, but this might be the best call yet. And you are giving me some really good Facebook material right now if I heard you correctly. [yes – I really said all of this as I was laughing…] I’m going to just repeat what you said, you said there is a rooster in a van and it’s been in there for awhile and it “crows” in the morning – waking you up, right? Like, this is really happening?

Caller: Yes, that’s what I said. I walked up to it because I was washing my windows and I saw a cage in there…and a rooster.

Me: Wow. Okay. We will….address this and deal with it. Thanks for calling.

Now…I’d like it to be known that our “Pet Policy” already reads like a Ripley’s Believe It Or Not marketing piece…or maybe a Candid Camera episode…but I never thought I’d have to add “rooster” to the list. (We actually had to add “Flying Squirrels” to this list…as my maintenance guy says…it only takes one idiot to ruin it for the whole group.)

#apartmentmanagerproblems

6 thoughts on “Apartment Manager Tales # 42: A rooster in a van.

  1. markbialczak says:

    Worse yet, now you also have to add van to apartment and shed, too. Cripers, Sassy. Some apartment-dwelling hillbillies.

  2. tiredwife says:

    But…..what did the owners of said rooster say???

    • sassypanties says:

      I’ll go ahead and quote them, “But we raised him since he was a baby chicken.”

      Our response? “Well, your rooster is disturbing other residents. It can’t stay here.”

  3. tiredwife says:

    haha that cracks me up. I love your apartment stories. My grandparents owned a property maintenance company. When I was small, and if I was visiting, they would take me with them to clean out some of the evictions. I got the BEST toys that way. And I learned how utterly filthy people are.

    The oddest things my grandparents found in a vacated property? 1 quaker parrot and one amazon parrot. Live. They had them as pets for years

Leave a Reply

