Here’s the thing, Sassyland

Hi Sassafrasses,

I’m going to go ahead and post some snark that will be laden with profanity – so if you’re new around here…this probably isn’t one of the best posts to sink your little Sassyland Virgin Teeth into. Season yourself on a few older posts and then come back to this one, if you scare easily. I’ll give you time to click away…really…it’s for your own good.

Okay – are we good? Excellent.

You know what I’m fucking SICK AND TIRED OF?!?! RIGHTEOUS ASSHOLE POLITIC HATE-SPEWING ASSTARDS, THAT’S WHAT! And that INCLUDES family members that feel it’s necessary to call you stupid or an idiot or make you feel unintelligent because you ask a question or have an opposing view.

I was reading a post that a friend posted on the Facebook…seemed innocent enough…then someone with his same last name – I assume it was a relative – started calling him and all his friends “LIBTARDS”. Now, I don’t give a rats ass what your political affiliation is, I truly don’t. When you spew your hatred towards other people who may not – OR MIGHT – (sometimes, I don’t know WHAT my political affiliation is) have your same viewpoint, how you respond speaks volumes about YOU as a person. If you cannot have a conversation without showing disrespect and name-calling then you can simply FUCK OFF. I have no use for you. Figure out a way to have an intelligent conversation. Try to understand and show compassion for someone that may not understand your point. There is ABSOLUTELY NO NEED to speak down to them, be condescending and name call. How is talking down to someone you are supposed to love – who is part of your family – going to get you anywhere? How is that not going to create tension?

I speak to you with experience on this matter. I have a family member who is a devout republican. In every sense of the word. FOX NEWS ALL THE WAY – RUSH LIMBAUGH – GLENN BECK…all of the right-wing big media guns – she eats that stuff up and shits it out – through her mouth mostly. All I know is that having an intelligent conversation with this person was so extremely difficult, I can’t even put it into words. The thing is – she’d say one thing one day, then contradict herself the next and when you call her out on it, she’d delete any evidence that she had said what she said – then type something like, “I’m not sure where all this VITRIOL is coming from.” Yeah…I had to pull that word up on Webster.com, too. It means – and I’m paraphrasing – “To speak with a hateful tone”…so here’s the thing, because I feel this way about politics – and that it’s never good to mix politics with ANY relationships I tend to read a lot of bullshit on Facebook but keep my opinions to myself. A LOT.  But when someone says something like, “Michelle Obama is a big fat cow.” and then I look in the mirror, all I can think is…”If she thinks Michelle Obama is a big fat cow, what do you think she thinks of ME?! I’m probably 1 1/2 times her size! Her own daughter is like, 2-3 times the size of our first lady. How can she say something like that?!” Clearly, Michelle Obama is not fat nor do her looks take after a bovine. She’s clearly being hateful. Then in the same breath, she praises her Lord and Savior for something and I sit there and think to myself, “A Christian, huh? She’s not really displaying the qualities that a bible believing Christian is asked to display. Kindness, compassion, understanding.” She called me an idiot on more than one occasion just for simply asking her a question – it wasn’t even argumentative, yet I’m the stupid one….

Here’s the thing, Sassyland. There has to be a better way to talk to each other. There has to be a better way to get your point across without making yourself look like an asshole. There HAS to be a better way. We cannot continue on this path of thinking that anyone with opposing views is WRONG. Social Media and THE media have created a MONSTER allowing us to be as outspoken as we want to be. We are PAINFULLY outspoken. I bury my hands in my face multiple times a day reading some of the things people put out there on the internet.

I’m tired of thinking less of people because they think so much of themselves that they can’t possibly learn anything from others. They CLAIM to want to have a constructive conversation – but it never ends that way. Family members ESPECIALLY need to show more care when expressing their opinions to other family members. After all, you LOVE this person, why would you want to make them feel less than or stupid because you have differing political views?

*mic drop*

5 thoughts on “Here’s the thing, Sassyland

  1. markbialczak says:

    So well said, Sassy. Isn’t it something how some people know everything about everything? Their way or no way! Their newscast or no newscast. Oy. No questions from you, only their answers. Ouch.

  2. Peabea says:

    You have verbally hit the nail on the head when it comes to ‘social?’ media. Even the comments people do on internet and news sites when they’re behind a keyboard are amazing. I often keep thinking, and we wonder where bullying comes from? I try to keep my opinions to myself on FB, and the times that I have put what I think out there, I have been attacked. I agree with your saying, it is getting out of hand. Great post…and you echo my thoughts pretty much. ~hugs~

  3. tiredwife says:

    I TOTALLY agree with you. I don’t identify as republican or democrat. I’m a happy little mixture of both (independent, I guess?) and I’m HAPPY that way. I ignore SO much that I see, especially on Facebook. I try to keep to my personal philosophy of “you post what you want on your FB page and I will keep my mouth shut”. But when they start posting nasty comments on my stuff, then there is an issue. And I don’t even post political stuff!

    • sassypanties says:

      I’m a big believer in “post what you want on your own page” too. Why should i care? I have a hard time identifying with being a Republican or a Democrat as well. I’m more about electing the right person for the right job.

Leave a Reply

